The NSSN is led by two internationally recognised scientists who are leaders in their respective fields of physics and chemistry and bring a wealth of expertise to the network's ambitious program of research, innovation and industry collaboration.

The NSSN Board, chaired by Dr Susan Pond AM, and consisting of experienced leaders across the policy, research and industry spectrum provide guidance and oversight on network strategy and direction.

The NSSN Members' Committee consists of senior representatives of each of the member universities and the NSW Office of Chief Scientist & Engineer. It ensures that member university and government imperatives guide the strategy and activities of the network. 

A lean central team of talented staff lead the research programs and co-ordinate the operations of the network.






Jo White

Board Member

Christina Newman

Office of the NSW Chief Scientist


Members’ Committee

Michael Car Picture.png

Professor Michael Cardew-Hall

Pro Vice-Chancellor (Innovation), ANU

Professor Sakkie Pretorius

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research), Macquarie University

Professor Deborah Hodgson

Acting Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research & Innovation), University of Newcastle

Professor Brian Boyle

Deputy Vice-Chancellor Enterprise, UNSW

Associate Professor Eric Knight

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research - Enterprise & Engagement), University of Sydney

Professor Kathryn McGrath

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research), UTS 


Professor Deborah Sweeney

Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice-President, Research & Innovation, Western Sydney University

Professor Jennifer L Martin AC

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research & Innovation), University of Wollongong



Nicholas Haskins
Chief Operating Officer
M 0413 281 724
T 02 9385 5450

Dr Don McCallum
Development Manager
M 0433 496 788

Dr Amanda Hayes
Research Theme Leader
M 0403 028 747
T 02 9385 5451


Dr Tomonori Hu

Research Theme Leader
M 0478 091 214
T 02 9351 6049


Dr Ramanathan Vaidyanathan
Research Theme Leader
M 0434 417 688
T 02 9385 1473


Dr Zhitao Xiong
Research Theme Leader
M 0415 736 566
T 02 8627 8759


Dr Eric Magi


Jimmy Tran

Electronics Engineer
T 02 8627 9433


Inka-Maria Bane
Project Administrator
T 02 8627 6306